All You Need is Patience

For some people the journey is about reaching the end, for people like me the journey is about the journey.

Janis Ian – on Between the Lines 

After the legendary songwriter/singer Janis Ian spoke those words, on our show, she picked up the guitar and played her classic hit At Seventeen. The episode was truly special and you can see it in its entirety at the end of this post. Just click on the arrow and enjoy.


For Janis the journey truly does continue and the joy and touching work she does still permeates the soul. Besides acting on the HBO series Getting On, a new project she’s completed, and is rightfully so proud of, was working with the talented actress Jean Smart, who recently joined the cast of Fargo, on FX. Together they just released a work of true brilliance and passion.

24: The clock has already started ticking for the thrilling and unpredictable fifth season of 24. "Day 5" will start with a four-hour, two-night season premiere on Sunday, Jan. 15 and Monday, Jan. 16 (8:00-10:00 PM ET/PT) on FOX. Jean Smart as Martha Logan. ™©2005 Fox Broadcasting Co. Cr: Michael Desmond/FOX.  

The work is an audio book version of the classic historical fiction story, Patience and Sarah, Written by Alma Routsong under the pen name of Isabel Miller. It is based on the true story of painter Mary Ann Wilson and her lover and companion Miss. Brundage. The topic was so taboo at the time which is why Alma had to use a pen name. As Janis so eloquently wrote me on the merits of the novel:

it was the first book I found where two gay people fell in love, no one died, no one killed themselves, and everyone wound up happy. The American Library Association gave it their first “Stonewall Award” because it had become so influential, and was so beautifully written!


Set in the 19th century, the novel traces the relationship between Patience White, an educated painter, and Sarah Dowling, a farmer’s daughter. At its core it is a story that shows how loving and being loved are what keep us human and sane.

Janis and Jean are the narrators of the book. Janis plays Sarah.

I made the mistake of letting a feeling get past the point where it can’t be stopped.

Jean takes on the role of Patience.

I couldn’t say what I wanted, I could say what I didn’t want.

The audio book is available at Just click on the link and it will take you directly to Patience and Sarah where you can sample the delicious dialogue and narration by Janis and Jean.

And, to watch my entire conversation with Janis on Between the Lines, give a click on the video below.






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s